July 10: Brahms 4

July 10: Brahms 4


Wednesday, July 10, 2019
7:30 PM
at the South Pasadena Public Library Community Room (map)

Boris Allakhverdyan, Andrew Shulman and Orion Weiss open the concert with the Clarinet Trio in A minor, composed in 1891 at the age of 58. Rafael Rishik, Robert Brophy, Lynn Harrell and Steven Vanhauwaert continue with the Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor composed in 1861 at the age of 28 (actually, he had already started composition on this masterpiece at the age of 23 in 1856). The NHSQ and Boris Allakhverdyan conclude the concert with the sublime Clarinet Quintet in B minor. Brahms came out of retirement to compose this work in 1891 at the age of 58.

Note: online sales are currently sold out, limited tickets are still available at the door this evening!

sold out
Add to Cart

Program & Artists

Clarinet Trio in A minor Op. 114
Clarinet: Boris Allakhverdyan
Cello: Andrew Shulman
Piano: Orion Weiss

Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor Op. 25
Violin: Rafael Rishik
Viola: Robert Brophy
Cello: Lynn Harrell
Piano: Steven Vanhauwaert

Clarinet Quintet in B minor Op. 115
New Hollywood String Quartet
Clarinet: Boris Allakhverdyan

New Hollywood String Quartet

Guest Artists