July 12: Brahms 6

July 12: Brahms 6


Friday, July 12, 2019
7:30 PM
at the South Pasadena Public Library Community Room (map)

Rafael Rishik and Robert Thies open the concert with the Sonatensatz: Scherzo in C minor. The young Johannes Brahms composed this work in October of 1853 at the age of 20. It was premiered by the great violinist Joseph Joachim. The concert continues with Paul Watkins and Rohan De Silva playing the Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor, mostly composed during the summer of 1862 at the age of 29. The last movement, however, was not completed until 1865. Cho-Liang-Lin, Paul Watkins and Robert Thies continue with the Piano Trio No.2 in C Major. Brahms started this composition in 1880 at the age of 47 and completed it at age 49 in 1882. Martin Chalifour, Rafael Rishik, Robert Brophy, Che-Yen Chen and Andrew Shulman then assemble for the magnificent String Quintet No.2 in G Major composed in 1890 at the age of 57. Brahms had intended this to be his last composition.

Note: online sales are currently sold out, limited tickets are still available at the door this evening!

sold out
Add to Cart

Program & Artists

Sonatensatz: Scherzo in C minor (From the F. A. E. Sonata)
Violin: Rafael Rishik
Piano: Robert Thies

Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor Op. 38
Cello: Paul Watkins
Piano: Rohan De Silva

Piano Trio No. 2 in C Major Op. 87
Violin: Cho-Liang Lin
Cello: Paul Watkins
Piano: Robert Thies

String Quintet No. 2 in G Major Op. 111
Violin: Martin Chalifour
Violin: Rafael Rishik
Viola: Robert Brophy
Viola: Che-Yen Chen
Cello: Andrew Shulman

New Hollywood String Quartet

Guest Artists