Back to All Events

Wednesday July 10th

  • CARNEGIE STAGE at the South Pasadena Public Library Community Room 1115 El Centro Street South Pasadena, CA 91030 United States (map)


Boris Allakhverdyan, Andrew Shulman and Orion Weiss open the concert with the Clarinet Trio in A minor, composed in 1891 at the age of 58. Rafael Rishik, Robert Brophy, Lynn Harrell and Steven Vanhauwaert continue with the Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor composed in 1861 at the age of 28 (actually, he had already started composition on this masterpiece at the age of 23 in 1856). The NHSQ and Boris Allakhverdyan conclude the concert with the sublime Clarinet Quintet in B minor. Brahms came out of retirement to compose this work in 1891 at the age of 58.

Program & Artists

Clarinet Trio in A minor Op. 114
Clarinet: Boris Allakhverdyan
Cello: Andrew Shulman
Piano: Orion Weiss

Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor Op. 25
Violin: Rafael Rishik
Viola: Robert Brophy
Cello: Lynn Harrell
Piano: Steven Vanhauwaert

Clarinet Quintet in B minor Op. 115
New Hollywood String Quartet
Clarinet: Boris Allakhverdyan

New Hollywood String Quartet

Guest Artists

Earlier Event: July 9
Tuesday July 9th
Later Event: July 11
Thursday July 11th