Back to All Events

Thursday July 11th

  • CARNEGIE STAGE at the South Pasadena Public Library Community Room 1115 El Centro Street South Pasadena, CA 91030 United States (map)


Margaret Batjer and Robert Thies start the program with the Violin Sonata in G Major “Regensonate” composed during the summers of 1878 and 1879 when Brahms was in his mid forties. Amy Jo Rhine, Tereza Stanislav and Bernadene Blaha continue with the Horn Trio in E Flat Major composed in 1865 at the age of 32. This work commemorates the death of his mother, Christiane, earlier that year. The NHSQ concludes the concert with the String Quartet in A minor. Both the A minor and C minor String Quartets were composed during the summer of 1873 at the age of 40, and published together that autumn as Op. 51.

Program & Artists

Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major Op. 78
Violin: Margaret Batjer
Piano: Robert Thies

Horn Trio in E flat Major Op. 40
Violin: Tereza Stanislav
Piano: Bernadene Blaha
Horn: Amy Jo Rhine

String Quartet No. 3 in B flat major Op. 67
New Hollywood String Quartet

New Hollywood String Quartet

Guest Artists

Earlier Event: July 10
Wednesday July 10th
Later Event: July 12
Friday July 12th