Back to All Events

Saturday July 13th

  • CARNEGIE STAGE at the South Pasadena Public Library Community Room 1115 El Centro Street South Pasadena, CA 91030 United States (map)


Cho-Liang-Lin and Rohan De Silva open the concert with the Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Major, composed while spending the summer in Thun, the Bernese Oberland, Switzerland in the year 1886 at the age of 53. Cho-Liang-Lin, Andrew Shulman and Rohan de Silva continue with Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major. This work was first completed in 1854 at the young age of 20, however Brahms produced a revised version in the summer of 1889. This ”New Edition” (Neue Ausgabe) was premiered on January 10th 1890 in Budapest. For the last work on the program, Margaret Batjer, Rafael Rishik, Robert Brophy, Che-Yen Chen and Robert deMaine perform the String Quintet in F Major, composed in 1882 at the age of 49.

Program & Artists

Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Major Op. 100
Violin: Cho-Liang Lin
Piano: Rohan De Silva

Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major Op. 8
Violin: Cho-Liang Lin
Cello: Andrew Shulman
Piano: Rohan De Silva

String Quintet No. 1 in F Major Op. 88
Violin: Margaret Batjer
Violin: Rafael Rishik
Viola: Robert Brophy
Viola: Che-Yen Chen
Cello: Robert deMaine

New Hollywood String Quartet

Guest Artists

Earlier Event: July 12
Friday July 12th
Later Event: July 14
Sunday July 14th